Leinster Junior Championships 2017

u14 winner Sean Hunter with u14 prizewinners

Image may contain: 6 people

Congratulations to Daniil Kashanin (front centre) 1st place, Yubo Wang (front right) 2nd place, Liam Hunter (front left) 3rd place who all scored 6 / 7 in the Leinster U11s. 4th place – Thomas Cooney (back left), 5th place – Zhengjun Wang (back centre), Ladies prize – Caroline Danaher (back right)

Image may contain: 6 people, child

under 12 champion Danny Dwyer with u12 prizewinners


Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, drink and indoor

Leinster U16 winners. Henry Li (front) emerged victorious with 5/5.


Image may contain: 1 person

Congratulations to Atharva Paibir who is the 2017 Leinster U10 Chess Champion. Atharva stormed home with a perfect 7/7.

Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, indoor

u19 Champion Conor O’Donnell with 2nd Henry Li , Gavin and Shane Melaugh

follw this link below to go directly to the Leinster schools Site


photo 5 photo 4 u16photo 4IMG-20150103-WA0007

Day 4. Conor O’Donnell and Henry Li add another title to their list of achievements. Henry retains the u14 Leinster Championship title and Conor O’Donnell wins the u19 title.

In second place u19, was Dylan Boyland , Alex Goss 3rd and Paul O’Neill 4th. In the u14, Devano Jose was 2nd, Killian Burke 3rd and Sean Devilly 4th.

Day 3. Congratulations to Eoin Farrelly & David Remenyik – 2015 Leinster U11 Champions.  Dayna Ferguson 3rd and Liam O Laoide, 4th

Day 2. The u12’s and u16’s took place over the 2nd and 3rd of Jan.

Joint u12 Leinster Champions for 2014 are Dayna Ferguson and Sean Hunter. Dayna is the first girl to win a Leinster title since 1996.

U16 Leinster Champion Conor O’Donnell

 Congratulations to Denis Ruchko (Galway) who won the  tournament and to Johan Thomas won came 4th in the u12.s.
Congratulations to Mihalo Manojlovic 2nd u16 and Henry Li 3rd u16.
Day 1

The Leinster Junior Chess Championships got underway today. First up were the U 10’s.

Convincingly won on 7/7 by Cillian Scallan, who, along with his title of Leinster u10 Champion 2014, also won the top prize money and a bonus of 70 euro for achieving a clean sweep

.U10 winnersPictured with Stephen Stokes, from Left,

James Prenderville, 2nd,

Valera Zaharovs, top scoring Girl,

Sanjay Menon, 4th,

Felix Jordan, 3rd,

Cillian Scallan 1st.


Leinster Schools Chess Association run the school leagues and individual tournaments.  For results and information check out their website.

The Leinster Junior Chess Championships will take place on 1-4 January in the Esplanade Hotel in Bray. There will be six age groups – Under 10s (1 Jan), Under 11s (3 Jan), Under 12s (1-2 Jan), Under 14s (3-4 Jan), Under 16s (1-2 Jan) and Under 19s (3-4 Jan). The fee is €15, with €5 for any additional event. Entries on the day incur a €10 surcharge. See details about this and other LSCA events at http://leinsterschoolschess.com








3 Responses to Leinster Junior Championships 2017

  1. Pingback: Chess 2015 | Galway Junior Chess

  2. Pingback: Terrific Results By Juniors In Leinsters | Rathmines Chess Club

  3. wallacemp11 says:

    Unique domestic after after concoct:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s